Custom Search

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – The Saint Augustine’s men and the Winston-Salem State women defended their titles at the CIAA Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championships at the JDL Fast Track on Monday, Feb. 15, ciaa logo

The Falcons scored 173 points to claim their 19th straight men’s crown.  Virginia Union was second with 107 points and Virginia State was third with 84.5 points.

ciaa witf16 wssu
Winstin-Salem State University Women
ciaa mitf16 sau
Saint Augustine's University Men

The Rams scored 120 points to win their second consecutive women’s title and fourth in the last six seasons. Johnson C. Smith placed second with 110 points and Saint Augustine’s was third with 107.33 points.

Immanuel Hutchinson of Saint Augustine’s was selected men’s track MVP after scoring 30 points in the meet. The Falcons’ senior won the 5000-meter and one-mile runs and placed second in the 800-meter run. On Sunday, he was part of the winning men’s distance medley squad which included Shaquille Dill, Burkheart Ellis, Jr. and Khari Herbert, Jr.

Chazton McKenzie of Virginia Union came away with men’s field MVP honors after scoring 24 points. The Panthers’ sophomore won the heptathlon and the long jump and placed fourth in the high jump.

Domtila Kiplagat of Winston-Salem State was chosen women’s track MVP after scoring 22.25 points. The Rams’ sophomore won the 3000-meter and one-mile runs, and was part of the winning women’s distance medley squad Sunday which included Taska Johnson, Aaliyah Craft and Tametris Morrison.

Shamia Lassiter of Saint Augustine’s and Rachel Bonham of Winston-Salem State were chosen women’s field co-MVPs after they both scored 18 points. Lassiter won the pentathlon and placed second in the long jump. She also won the 60-meter hurdles. Bonham won the high jump and finished second in the pentathlon.

The Falcons relied on their sprinters and jumpers to win their latest men’s championship. They won all eight running events and the triple jump to pull away from their competitors.

After entering Monday in second place after three events, the Falcons erupted for 158 points on the final day. Hutchinson led the way with two victories and Khari Herbert, Jr. (400 meters), Shawn Rowe (60-Meter Hurdles), Daniel Jamieson (200 meters), Shaquille Dill (800 meters), Burkheart Ellis, Jr. (60 Meters), and Jumonne Exeter (Triple Jump) each won an event. The 4x400-meter squad which included Herbert, Ellis, Rowe and Omar Johnson was also victorious for the Falcons.

Led by Kiplagat and Bonham, the Rams won four events at the meet. The Rams entered Monday with a seven-point lead over Johnson C. Smith, and maintained their margin by scoring 86 points on the final day.

The other men’s individual champions were Garland Archie of Livingstone (Shot Put), Dajawn Williams of Virginia State (High Jump) and Zakari Greene of Virginia State (Pole Vault). The other women’s winners were Ebony Moore of Livingstone (Shot Put), Ornella Livingston of Saint Augustine’s (60 Meters, 200 Meters), Kendra Clarke of Johnson C. Smith (400 Meters), Domenique Julius-Williams of Johnson C. Smith (800 Meters), Shakinah Brooks of Saint Augustine’s (Long Jump) and Amenze Uhunmwangho of Saint Augustine’s (Triple Jump). The foursome of Clarke, Julius-Williams, Crystal Campbell and Tovea Jenkins of Johnson C. Smith placed first in the 4x400-meter relay.

Onnidan HBCU Football Scoreboard 4

Onnidan Football Scoreboard 4h

DIY custom module(Neulion test)